Boards & Committees

Board of Visitors

The SILS Board of Visitors serve as trusted advisors on educational, research and service programs for the School. The Board assists SILS in enhancing the perception of the School, encouraging the highest quality education, participating in strategic planning, evaluating the School's progress and aiming to increase overall support.

Charles Lowry
Professor Emeritus
College of Information Studies
University of Maryland, College Park
Washington, D.C.


Committee Members

Larry AlfordLarry Alford
Chief Librarian
University of Toronto Libraries
Toronto, Ontario, Canada 

 photo of Mary Boone
Mary Boone
Immediate Past Chair
North Carolina State Librarian (retired)
Raleigh, NC


photo of George CoeGeorge Coe
Chief Executive Officer and President, Baker & Taylor
Charlotte, NC



Will CrossWilliam Cross
President of SILS Alumni Association
Director, Copyright and Digital Scholarship, North Carolina State University Libraries
Raleigh, NC


Russ DavidsonRuss Davidson
Curator & Professor Emeritus, University Libraries of the
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM



photo of David GobleDavid Goble
Director of Library Services
Charleston, SC


photo of William GravesWilliam Graves
Senior Vice President, Academic Strategy at Ellucian
Chapel Hill, NC



Tim GunterTim Gunter 
Vice President of North Highland’s Global Expertise Network for Energy and Utilities
Belmont, NC



photo of Patricia Harris

Patricia Harris
International Standards Specialist
Standards Coordination Office at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Bethesda, MD


Margie Hlava

Marge Hlava
President, Access Innovations Inc.
Albuquerque, NM



photo of Robert J. Jordan

Robert L. "Jay" Jordan
President and CEO, OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (retied)
Dublin, OH


photo of Bob Martin

The Honorable Robert Sidney Martin
Professor Emeritus
School of Library and Information Studies Texas Woman's University
Denton, TX 
Previous Director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services


Peyton Neal
Washington, D.C.


photo of Marian ParkerMarian F. Parker
Law Librarian Consultant
Winston-Salem, NC



Susan Perry
Senior Advisor, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation (retired)
South Hadley, MA



photo of Wayne Pond

Wayne Pond
Director, UNC Humanities Program (retired)
Chapel Hill, NC



Dr. Mae RodmanMae Lipscomb Rodney
Library Director, Winston-Salem State University
Winston-Salem, NC



photo of Fred RoperFred Roper
Dean Emeritus, School of Library and Information Science, University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC


Duncan SmithDuncan Smith
Co-founder, Vice-President, NoveList Division, EBSCO Publishing
Durham, NC


photo of Sarah Snow

Sarah Snow
Information Management Consultant
Chapel Hill, NC



photo of Leo YakutisLeo Yakutis
Senior Cyber Consultant
Commercial Cyber Innovations Group
Van Dyke Technology Group
Columbia, MD




SILS Alumni Inclusion and Diversity Committee  

The purpose of the SILS Alumni Inclusion and Diversity (SAID) Committee is to increase involvement and engagement of SILS minority alumni by strategically advising the Dean and School, developing a smart, sustainable and scalable plan in consultation with the Dean and School, helping to implement the plan and inviting other SILS alumni to join in.


Samira Fazel Creel
IT Manager, Capital One.
Glen Allen, Virginia




Gerald Holmes
Reference Librarian and Diversity Coordinator, University Libraries at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, NC



Committee Members

Saianand Balu
Director of Informatics, Lineberger Cancer Center
Chapel Hill, NC

Sayan Chakraborty
Manager, Technology Strategy and Architecture practice in Deloitte Consulting.
Pittsburgh, PA



Lewis Church
Principal software developer, SAS Institute Inc.
Cary, NC



Teresa Church
Proprietor, LTC Consulting
Cary, NC




Carla Davis-Castro
SILS student
Chapel Hill, NC



Claudia Gollop
Frances Carroll McColl Term Professor, SILS
Chapel Hill, NC




Sandra Hughes-Hassell
Professor, SILS
Chapel Hill, NC




Irene Owens
Dean and Professor, School of Library and Information Sciences at North Carolina Central University
Durham, NC



Marisa Ramirez
Digital Scholarship Services Librarian, California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA



Mae Lipscomb Rodney
Library Director, Winston-Salem State University
Winston Salem, NC





Administrative Advisory Board

Timothy Carey
4/1/13 - 3/31/16
Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research

Claudia Gollop
Associate Professor
School of Information and Library Science

Jane Greenberg
School of Information and Library Science

Anselmo Lastra
Professor and Chair
Department of Computer Science

Cathy Packer
4/1/13 - 3/31/16
Horace Carter Distinguished Professor
School of Journalism/Mass Communication

Ryan Shaw
Assistant Professor
School of Information and Library Science



The Knowledge TrustSM

photo of Wilson Round Library

The Knowledge TrustSM is a commitment by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Information and Library Science to shape a critical role for 21st century knowledge professionals.

The Louis Round Wilson Academy

The central pillar supporting The Knowledge Trust, the Louis Round Wilson Academy, will define and disseminate the primary tenets of 21st century information and library science and service.

Academy Members