Informed Leadership

At the UNC School of Information and Library Science (SILS), we shape the future of information creation, access, use, management, and stewardship. We turn data into information that connects communities and fuels research. Our leadership in digital curation, information interaction, health informatics, and librarianship drives how information affects society and the world.

Dean and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor Gary Marchionini has led SILS since 2010. In addition to drawing on the expertise and input of faculty, staff, students, and alumni, Marchionini also relies on insights from boards and committees composed of friends, alumni, and industry leaders. Click on the links below to learn more about these invaluable advisors.

Board of Visitors

Campaign for Carolina Committee

ITAR (Information Trends Advisory Roundtable)

SILS Alumni Inclusion and Diversity (SAID) Committee

Shaping the future of information science

Our faculty are frequently elected and appointed to national leadership positions, where they help determine trends, policies, and objectives that shape the future of all branches of information science. Listed below are some of the most recent and notable appointments.

Professor Cal Lee, 2018-2021 Editor of The American Archivist

Professor Javed Mostafa, 2016-2021, Editor of the Journal of the Association for Information Science and Technology (JASIST)

Professor Sandra Hughes-Hassell, 2017-2018 President of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)

Dean Gary Marchionini, 2009 President of the American Society for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T)

Professor Helen Tibbo, 2009-2010 President of the Society of American Archivists (SAA)

SILS Librarian Rebecca Vargha, 2006-07 President of the Special Library Association (SLA)