Tamika Barnes receives Meritorious Achievement Award

Release date: 

December 11, 2009

Photo of Tamika BarnesOn Thursday evening, Dec. 3, Tamika Barnes, director of the Environmental Protection Agency Library in Research Triangle Park, NC, received the North Carolina Special Libraries Association (SLA) Chapter Meritorious Achievement Award at the NCSLA Gala and Awards Ceremony. The event took place at Biaggi’s Italian Restaurant in Cary, NC. The award was presented to Barnes by Joanie Olivier from Iconitel on behalf of the chapter. Olivier is the past president of NCSLA. Barnes was honored for her outstanding professional contributions both in North Carolina and on the SLA Board of Directors. Additionally, she is very active in other library organizations such as the American Library Association.

Meritorious Achievement Award
The Meritorious Achievement award is presented to the Chapter colleague who has made outstanding or notable contributions to the Chapter and to the profession. To be eligible, a nominee must have been a Chapter member in good standing for at least the past four years. Outstanding efforts on behalf of the Chapter, notable innovations on the job, participation in seminars or other similar activities which benefit the Chapter or promote public recognition of the profession, will be the criteria for final selection.

Past Meritorious Achievement Award recipients

2009 Tamika Barnes
2008 Ann Stringfield
2006 Laura "Lolly" Gasaway
2005 Bea Kovacs
2004 Larry Skladanowski
2003 Fred Roper
2002 Alan Tuttle
2001 Bob Ballard
2000 Evelyn Daniel
1999 Jean Porter
1998 Barbara Best-Nichols
1997 Larry Wright
1996 Barbara Semonche
1995 Barbara K. Post
1994 Rebecca B. Vargha
1993 Alice R. Cotton
1992 Dav Robertson
1991 Ildiko Trombitas
1990 Sangster Parrott

Congratulations Tamika!