Dr. Diane Kelly named McColl Professor

August 5, 2010

Dr. Diane Kelly, associate professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's School of Information and Library Science (SILS), has been named a Frances Carroll McColl Term Professor (2010-2012) effective July 1, 2010. 

Named the 2006-2007 SILS Outstanding Teacher of the Year, as well as the 2009 ASIS&T/Thomson Reuters Outstanding Information Science Teacher, Kelly’s appointment comes after years of outstanding teaching. During her time at SILS, she has taught courses in interactive information retrieval, Web search and interaction, research methods, research design and Internet applications.

A prominent researcher in the information retrieval community, Kelly's research is focused on information search behavior and the design and evaluation of systems that support interactive information retrieval. She is also interested in experimental design and evaluation measures, as well as evaluation behavior.

The McColl Professorship was established in 1997 to provide a salary supplement and funds for research and travel to a single SILS faculty member for a two-year term. A second McColl Professorship was created in 2005.

Hugh McColl, Jr. established the McColl Professorship in memory of his mother, Frances Carroll McColl, and sister, Frances McColl Covington. Hugh McColl said he was inspired to create the professorship by the school’s needs and his mother’s love of literature.

“My mother taught everyone in the family to love books, and we have prospered from having access to them and, perhaps more important, knowing where to turn to find the information we need,” McColl said.

The second McColl Professorship was created in 2005 thanks to support from Bill and Sarah McCoy and Duncan Smiith.

Kelly joins SILS Professor Javed Mostafa as a current McColl Professor.

Past McColl Professors are Dr. Jane Greenberg (2007-2009), Dr. Paul Solomon (2006-2008), Dr. Stephanie Haas (2005-2007), Dr. Barbara Wildemuth (2004-06), Dr. Evelyn Daniel (2002-04), Dr. Helen Tibbo (2000-02), Dr. Robert M. Losee (1998-2000) and Dr. William M. Shaw Jr. (1997-98).