SILS names 2010 Outstanding Teachers

May 29, 2010

Two SILS faculty members were presented with the 2010 Outstanding Teacher Awards during the School’s commencement ceremony on May 9, 2010. 

Dr. Sandra Hughes Hassell, associate professor, and Dr. Susan Rathbun-Grubb, SILS graduate, were nominated by their students for their teaching excellence.

photo of Sandra Hughes-Hassel and Gary MarchioniniThe Outstanding Teacher Award was presented to Dr. Hughes Hassell by Dr. Gary Marchionini, SILS dean and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor and recipient of last years’ award.

"The person selected has been called a born teacher, an expert in her field and an expert in classroom management, a great listener, personable and compassionate, said Marchionini. "She is innovative in how she approaches teaching and how she incorporates technology into her courses with student blogging, wikis and multimedia presentation opportunities. An exceptional mentor, this person is said to take the time to get to know her students, and frequently alerts them to additional learning or career opportunities on campus, online or through professional organizations. One of the students nominating her says, “it is clear that she always has the best interests of all of her students in mind.” Another nominator gave high praise with the statement, "Dr. Hughes Hassell is not only the best teacher I have had in my two years at SILS, she is one of the best teachers that I have ever had in my long career as a student.”

Hughes Hassell specializes in children's literature, children's services and School Library Media.


photo of Suan Rathbun-Grubb and Evelyn DanielThe Outstanding Teacher Award for adjunct faculty was awarded to Dr. Susan Rathbun-Grubb.  Dr. Rathbun-Grubb graduated in December 2009 and begind teaching at the University of South Carolina in the fall 2010.

Presented by last year's recipient, Dr. Evelyn Daniel, the recipient of the Outstanding Teacher of the Year for Adjunct Faculty demonstrated her dedication to education by teaching as an adjunct while pursuing her Ph.D.

"Her nominator says that she is not only an engaging teacher, but her warmth and openness created an environment of learning both inside and outside of the classroom," said Daniel. This student shared that while he had "a big picture idea of the types of things he might want to pursue, her class helped him discover and express things he didn’t even know he had an interest in.  He says that he has enjoyed several different professors during his time at SILS, but this teacher presented a class that has inspired him and sent him in new directions.  She not only received his nomination, but he also "offered the most resounding praise he can give."

The Outstanding Teacher awards include a framed certificate and a monetary award. Other nominations for this year's teaching awards included:


  • Phil Edwards
  • Jane Greenberg
  • Stephanie Haas
  • Sandra Hughes-Hassell
  • Brad Hemminger
  • Diane Kelly
  • Jeff Pomerantz
  • Brian Sturm

Adjunct Faculty

  • Rob Capra
  • Susan Rathbun-Grubb

Also nominated, but not eligible this year were Michel Bezy and Jackie Dean.

Current and previous winners may be viewed here.