Deborah Barreau named McColl Term Professor

June 8, 2011
Dr. BarreauDr. Deborah Barreau, associate professor at the School of Information and Library Science (SILS) at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, has been appointed Frances Carroll McColl Term Professor effective July 1, 2011.
The McColl Professorship was established in 1997 to recognize faculty who have made notable contributions to research, teaching and service to SILS. It provides a salary supplement and funds for research and travel for a two-year term.
"Members of the Administrative Advisory Board were unanimous in the decision to select Deborah for this honor," said Dr. Gary Marchionini, dean and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor. "She is an exceptional teacher and outstanding researcher who is admired by students and colleagues alike. She deserves this recognition." 
Barreau joined the SILS faculty in 2002 after serving on the faculty at Catholic’s School of Library and Information Science. She worked as a systems librarian in Pennsylvania and a project manager, applications supervisor and systems analyst at Aspen Systems Corporation in Rockville, MD. She received the SILS "Outstanding Teacher Award" in 2004 and 2008, and in 2002 Barreau was the recipient of the American Society of  Information Science and Technology's "Outstanding Information Science Teacher." She has taught many courses since her arrival at SILS and most recently taught "Human Information Interaction," Information Use for Organizational Effectiveness" and "Personal Information Management."
She graduated with an MSLS from SILS in 1985 and earned her Ph.D. in library and information services from the University of Maryland at College Park. Her research interests include design, development and use of information systems; organizational behavior; organizational communication; and personal information management. 
The McColl Professorship
Hugh McColl, Jr. established the McColl Professorship in memory of his mother, Frances Carroll McColl, and sister, Frances McColl Covington. Hugh McColl said he was inspired to create the professorship by the school's needs and his mother's love of literature.
“My mother taught everyone in the family to love books, and we have prospered from having access to them and, perhaps more important, knowing where to turn to find the information we need,” McColl said.
A second McColl Term Professorship was made possible in 2005 thanks to support from Bill (BSBA '55) and Sara McCoy and Duncan Smith (MSLS '80).
Current and past McColl Professors include Dr. Diane Kelly (2010-2012), Dr. Javed Mostafa (2009-2011), Dr. Jane Greenberg (2007-2009), Dr. Paul Solomon (2007-2009), Dr. Stephanie Haas (2005-2007), Dr. Barbara Wildemuth (2004-06), Dr. Evelyn Daniel (2002-04), Dr. Helen Tibbo (2000-02), Dr. Robert M. Losee (1998-2000) and Dr. William M. Shaw Jr. (1997-98).