Undergrad Brittany Hayes inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

May 20, 2011

Congratulations to Brittany Michelle Hayes, a junior with a dual major in information science (School of Information and Library Science) and history (College of Arts and Sciences) who is one of 139 inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest college honorary society, at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most honored college honorary society, has inducted 139 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students as new members.

The induction ceremony featured remarks by Steven P. Miller, executive vice president of the Biltmore Company. New members received certificates and Phi Beta Kappa keys, the organization’s symbol.

Phi Beta Kappa membership is open to undergraduates in UNC’s College of Arts and Sciences and professional degree programs who meet stringent eligibility requirements.

A student who has completed 75 hours of course work with a GPA of 3.85 or better (on a 4-point scale) is eligible for membership. Also eligible is any student who has competed 105 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a 3.75 GPA. Grades earned at other universities are not considered. Less than 1 percent of all college students qualify.

Past and present Phi Beta Kappa members from across the country have included 17 American presidents and numerous artistic, intellectual and political leaders. Seven of the nine U.S. Supreme Court Justices are members.

Phi Beta Kappa has 280 chapters nationwide. UNC’s chapter, Alpha of North Carolina, was founded in 1904 and is the oldest of six chapters in the state.

Each year, Phi Beta Kappa chapters and alumni associations across the country raise and distribute more than $1 million in awards, scholarships and prizes benefiting high school and college students.

Phi Beta Kappa officers at Carolina for 2010-2011 are students Julia Loewenthal, president; Chris Carter, vice president; and Lauren-Kelly Devine, recording secretary. Robert Lowman, Ph.D., associate vice chancellor for research, is chapter secretary and faculty adviser.