Nominations accepted for SILS Outstanding Teacher of the Year

March 2, 2011

All students, faculty and staff of the School of Information and Library Science are invited to submit nominations for the 2011 “Outstanding Teacher Award.” SILS will recognize two outstanding faculty – one full-time faculty member and one adjunct faculty member - who have demonstrated excellence in teaching for the 2010/2011 academic year.
All full-time tenured, tenure-track and fixed-term faculty members who have taught at least one course each year for three consecutive years can be nominated. Adjunct faculty may be nominated for the special adjunct award. Winners from the previous two years (Drs. Sandra Hughes-Hassell, Gary Marchionini, Evelyn Daniel and Susan Rathbun-Grubb) are not eligible for the award.
The Selection Committee (Dr. Sandra Hughes-Hassell; Dr. Susan Rathbun-Grubb; Dean Gary Marchionini; and ILSSA president, Amanda Foster) will judge the nominations.
 The judging criteria include:

  •  Teaching excellence
  •  Innovation
  •  Classroom instruction
  •  Mentoring

To nominate an outstanding teacher, please send a letter that includes your name and a statement of why you think the teacher you are nominating is deserving of this recognition to Dr. Gary Marchionini, dean and Cary C. Boshamer distinguished professor, Room 100 Manning Hall, CB 3360. You may also send your letter via e-mail to Wanda Monroe, director of Communications, at by MARCH 25th.
The full-time professor selected for this award will receive a certificate and a $2500 cash award. The adjunct professor will receive a certificate and a $500 cash award. The “Outstanding Teachers” will be announced at the SILS commencement ceremony on May 8th.
Be sure to participate in the nomination process. Nominate your favorite SILS teacher today!