Dr. Claudia Gollop appointed Frances Carroll McColl Term Professor

June 21, 2012

Claudia GollopDr. Claudia Gollop, associate professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's School of Information and Library Science (SILS), has been appointed as the next Frances Carroll McColl Term Professor effective July 1, 2012.

"The Administrative Board of SILS noted the many contributions Dr. Gollop has made to the doctoral program and to link SILS to professional communities beyond the school, as well as her ongoing work in community health information services," said Gary Marchionini, dean and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor in a message to the SILS community.

In addition to full-time teaching, Gollop is also the current director of the SILS Summer School program and coordinator of the SILS WISE (Web-based Information Science Education) program. She teaches courses on "Consumer Health Information," "Information Resources and Services" and "Information Services for Specific Populations." Her current research interests include consumer health information and diverse user groups specifically pertaining to cardiac rehabilitation issues.  

The McColl Professorship
Hugh McColl, Jr. established the McColl Professorship in memory of his mother, Frances Carroll McColl, and sister, Frances McColl Covington. Hugh McColl said he was inspired to create the professorship by the school's needs and his mother's love of literature.
“My mother taught everyone in the family to love books, and we have prospered from having access to them and, perhaps more important, knowing where to turn to find the information we need,” McColl said.
A second McColl Term Professorship was made possible in 2005 thanks to support from Bill (BSBA '55) and Sara McCoy and Duncan Smith (MSLS '80).
Current and past McColl Professors include Dr. Claudia Gollop (2012-2014), Dr. Deborah Barreau (2011-2013), Dr. Diane Kelly (2010-2012), Dr. Javed Mostafa (2009-2011), Dr. Jane Greenberg (2007-2009), Dr. Paul Solomon (2007-2009), Dr. Stephanie Haas (2005-2007), Dr. Barbara Wildemuth (2004-06), Dr. Evelyn Daniel (2002-04), Dr. Helen Tibbo (2000-02), Dr. Robert M. Losee (1998-2000) and Dr. William M. Shaw Jr. (1997-98).