Students receive special awards during commencement ceremony

May 16, 2012

Several awards were presented to acknowledge the many achievements by the graduating students at the UNC at Chapel Hill's School of Information and Library Science during the academic year.

Dr. Sandra Hughes-Hassell, professor and chair of the SILS Diversity Committee, acknowledged and thanked the graduates for their commitment to improving diversity at SILS. It was through their extraordinary efforts to improve the diversity climate that they received the Diversity Advocate Certificate Awards. The recipients included: Sofía Becerra-Licha, Erin Carrillo, Billy Cook, Sarah Dooley, Michael Hughes, Liz Johns, Susan Metallo, Jennifer Scully and Madeline Veitch.

Dr. Jaime Arguello, assistant professor, presented the 2011 - 2012 Dean's Achievement Awards to Cheryl Thomson for her paper “Answering the Call for Data Curation: An Exploration of the Careers of LIS Professionals Managing Data.” Her advisor was Dr. Joanne Gard Marshall. The other recipient was Hannah Pierce for her paper “A Content Analysis Study of the Equivalency of Publishers’ Easy Reader Leveling Systems.” Hannah’s advisor was Dr. Brian Sturm. The Dean's Achiement Awards are presented to students who produce the highest quality masters' papers.








The Elfreda Chatman Research Award was presented at the beginning of the semester so the recipient could use the funds for her research paper. Dr. Brian Sturm, associate professor, presented the certificate and acknowledged the award that went to Courtney Minton for her proposal titled, “The Effect of Poetry Promotion in Elementary School Libraries on Poetry Use Among Students.” The Elfreda Chatman Award was created by the SILS Alumni Association in 2002 to honor Dr. Elfreda Chatman's interest in original research. Chatman was a former member of the SILS faculty.

Kim Duckett (MSLS '01), president of the SILS Alumni Association (SILSAA), congratulated the graduates and welcomed them as the newest members of the SILS Alumni Association.

"We hope you will find this membership useful and that you will engage in activities that benefit future students, yourselves and the School," said Duckett. "The membership is free for life and we would love to see you use it to stay connected to the SILS community."

Benito Luciano and Kim DuckettShe presented the Outstanding Service to the School Award which is supported by SILSAA.

"This student is well known for not only the quality of his work, but for his technical skills, patience, professionalism and sense of humor," said Duckett. "After seeing the need to help promote the undergraduate program, the student offered his assistance by volunteering to work on a video that highlights the BSIS program. He not only has captured the needed footage for the video, he is also producing it to help the School grow the BSIS program," said Duckett. "As you can easily tell, Benito Luciano (BSIS '12) is an extraordinary student and this year's recipient of the Outstanding Service to the School Award."

There were several awards received by the graduates during the academic year. The list of all graduates, the titles of their papers and a list of their awards is included in the commencement program available here.