Dr. Barbara B. Moran appointed chair of ALA Committee on Accreditation

September 18, 2013

Dr. Barbara MoranDr. Barbara B. Moran, Louis Round Wilson Distinguished Professor at the School of Information and Library Science (SILS) at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, has been appointed chair of the American Library Association (ALA) Committee on Accreditation (COA) for a one year term. Moran began her appointment on July 1, 2013.

The charge of the COA is “to be responsible for the execution of the accreditation program of ALA, and to develop and formulate standards of education for library and information studies for the approval of council.” Accreditation is a “program that provides assurance that graduate programs in library and information studies meet approved standards of quality,” according to the COA’s Strategic Plan. SILS has two accredited programs, the Master of Science in Library Science (MSLS) and the Master of Science in Information Science (MSIS). 

“Barbara brings neutral and consensus-building leadership to the important deliberations of the committee,” said Barbara Stripling, President, American Library Association. “She understands the accreditation process well and provides strong guidance to the committee."
Members of the COA are appointed by the ALA president-elect. The 12 member team includes 10 members who represent practitioners and educators. One of these members must be Canadian. The other two members represent the public interest and are “appointed from the public-at-large.”