Beta Phi Mu International Library and Information Science Honor Society inducts new initiates - selects Craig Willis for Achievement Award

June 20, 2013

The Epsilon Chapter of Beta Phi Mu, the honor society of the School of Information and Library Science (SILS) at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, held its annual dinner meeting and induction ceremony on May 9th, at Maggiano's Little Italy Restaurant in Durham, N.C. 

"Beta Phi Mu was founded in 1948 by a group of leading librarians and library educators to recognize and encourage scholastic achievement among library and information studies students." Inductees are selected and invited into the society by SILS faculty members. 

The program included a welcome from Epsilon Beta Phi Mu president and SILS alumna, Donna Nixon (MSLS '01) who began the initiation ceremony which included remarks from Vice President/President Elect John Blythe (MSIS '09), Secretary/Treasurer Kimberly Hirsh (MSLS '11) and 2012 initiate Tommy Richey (MSLS '11).  Dr. Gary Marchionini, SILS dean and Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor, provided a report on the state of the School and said that SILS continues to grow. He noted that SILS has been able to add five new faculty members this fall as well as continue interdisciplinary certificates like the Health Informatics Program and a Post Master’s in Data Curation. He shared that SILS will be expanding into much needed space in the garden level of Manning Hall as the Odum Institute moves to new quarters at the Davis Library.

President Donna Nixon introduced the keynote speaker, Anne Klinefelter, director of the UNC Law Library and associate professor of Law. Klinefelter led the group in an interactive discussion privacy and librarians and libraries role in facilitating, enforcing, negotiating and mediating privacy. 

beta phi muThose inducted into Beta Phi Mu included:

  • William Cook (MSLS '12)
  • Martin Gengenbach (MSLS '12)
  • Dave Ghamandi (MSLS '12)
  • Emily Guhde (MSLS '12)(MPA '12)
  • Rachel Lerner (MSLS '11)
  • Susan Metallo (MSLS '12)
  • Courtney Minton (MSLS '12)
  • Derek Rodriguez (Ph.D. '12)
  • Heather Siekkinen (MSLS '12)
  • Lisa Simmons (MSLS '12)
  • Craig Willis (MSLS '12)

Nixon also announced that Craig Willis was the recipient of the Beta Phi Mu Achievement Award.

“I wish to express my sincerest thanks to SILS faculty and the Epsilon Chapter for both the Achievement Award and the nomination to Beta Phi Mu," said Willis. "What an incredible honor!  I actually pass an old photo of some of the original members in the halls of GSLIS at Illinois almost daily.  The nomination and award come as quite surprise as I consider the amazing achievements and service of my fellow students at UNC. 

"By the time I decided to pursue my MLS, I had spent a number of years working in the library software industry.  What I realized at the time, and what ultimately drove my decision to apply to SILS (and to continue at UIUC), was that I truly enjoyed working in the service of libraries and their users. I am honored and delighted to have the opportunity to join the Epsilon Chapter.“

As her last act as president, Nixon passed the gavel to incoming president Emily Jack (MSLS '07) who adjourned the meeting. 

Photos by Emily Jack.