Mary L. Boone, SILS distinguished alumna, selected by Trustees for new class of UNC Board of Visitors

June 19, 2013

MaryBooneMary L. Boone (MSLS '73), distinguished alumna of the School of Information and Library Science (SILS) has been appointed by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees to serve on the UNC Board of Visitors, one of the most active volunteer groups at the University. The new class of alumni and friends begin their terms July 1.

The new members will become part of an approximately 175-member board that actively assists the Board of Trustees and Chancellor in a range of activities that help advance the University, including marketing, top student recruitment, public and government relations and fundraising. Members also serve as ambassadors, informing their communities about what is going on at Carolina and, in turn, keeping the University administration informed about what they hear about Carolina in their communities.

Boone retired from the position of North Carolina State Librarian in January of 2012 after holding the position since 2005. She is a SILS distinguished alumna and former chair and current member of the SILS Board of Visitors.

Since graduating from SILS in 1973, Boone held positions that took her around the world. From 1978 to 1985, she served as director of the Chapel Hill Public Library and helped found the North Carolina Public Library Directors Association. In 1985, she was appointed to the position of Foreign Service Library/Information Resource Officer with the United States Information Agency and the U.S. Department of State.

From 1999-2002, Boone served as the director of the State Department's international library program, providing policy, programs and support to 175 libraries and information resource centers at U.S. embassies and consulates worldwide. She is also a member of the North Carolina Library Association, the American Library Association, and the American Foreign Service Association.

A native of North Carolina, Boone received her BA and MSLS degrees from SILS at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The SILS Alumni Association presented her with its Distinguished Alumni Award in December 2003. The North Carolina Public Library Directors Association presented her with the Library Director of the Year Award in December 2009. 

UNC Board of Visitors members serve four-year terms. Each year, as members rotate off, the Board of Trustees elects a class of new members. Selected to chair the Board of Visitors beginning July 1 is Dr. Michael Zollicoffer of Baltimore, and selected as vice chair is Richard Margerison of Dallas.

The new members of the UNC Board of Visitors are listed below, alphabetically by North Carolina county and by state.



Roderick Hargrove of Hickory

Mary Boone of Pittsboro

Samuel Dixon of Edenton
Roland Vaughan of Edenton

Wanda Page of Durham

Claude Teague of Winston-Salem

Paul Coughlin of High Point
David Moore of Greensboro
Robert Wicker of Greensboro

P. Tilghman Pope of Dunn

Robert Bryan of Charlotte
Leigh Goodwyn of Charlotte
Robert James of Charlotte
J M Taylor of Charlotte

Patty Hill of Chapel Hill
William Moore of Chapel Hill

Zee Lamb of Elizabeth City

Charles Brown of Albemarle
James Nance of Albemarle

Kerry Bird of Raleigh
John Lyon of Raleigh
Denise Martin of Raleigh
Bettie Kay McKaig of Raleigh
Charles Mercer of Raleigh
Tom Murry of Raleigh
David Roberts of Raleigh


Nancy Abbey of San Francisco
Jennifer Halsey of Menlo Park
District of Columbia

Cassandra Butts of Washington
Mary Louise Cohen of Washington

Ibrez Bandukwala of Atlanta
Lisa deGolian of Atlanta
Daryl Evans of Atlanta
Lisa Fey of Atlanta
John Hand of Atlanta

Jill Becker of Pikesville

A. Douglas Rothwell of Ann Arbor
New York

Adele Bonnie of New York
Margaret McNairy of New York
Malcolm Turner of New York

Harold Glass of Philadelphia

Robert Mathews of Nashville
Caroline Orr of Memphis

Edward Heidt of Virginia Beach
Thane Kerner of Earlysville
Virgin Islands

Roy Flood of St. Thomas

Edgar Villanueva of Seattle