Nominations for the 2013 “Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence" are now being accepted

February 25, 2013

All students, faculty and staff of the School of Information and Library Science are invited to submit nominations for the 2013 “Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence.” SILS will recognize two outstanding faculty–one full-time faculty member and one adjunct faculty member who have demonstrated excellence in teaching for the 2012/2013 academic year.  (See: )

All full-time tenured, tenure-track and fixed-term faculty members who have taught at least one course each year for three consecutive years can be nominated. Adjunct faculty may be nominated for the special adjunct award. The winners from the previous two years (Dr. Stephanie Haas, Rebecca Vargha, Phillip Edwards and Dr. Carolyn Hank) are not eligible for the award.

The Selection Committee includes Dr. Stephanie Haas; Rebecca Vargha; Dean Gary Marchionini; and ILSSA president, Robin Zirkle who will judge the nominations.

The judging criteria include:

  • Teaching excellence 
  • Innovation
  • Classroom instruction
  • Mentoring

To nominate an outstanding teacher, please send a letter that includes your name and a few paragraphs of why you think the teacher you are nominating is deserving of this recognition via e-mail to Wanda Monroe, director of Communications, at by MARCH 22nd, 2013.

The full-time professor selected for this award will receive a certificate and a $2500 cash award. The adjunct professor will receive a certificate and a $500 cash award. Those selected for the "Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence" will be announced at the SILS commencement ceremony on May 12th, 2013.

Be sure to participate in the nomination process. Nominate your favorite SILS teacher today!