Eight SILS Faculty Nominated for 2015 Teaching Excellence Award

April 15, 2015

UNC-Chapel Hill School of Information and Library Science (SILS) students, faculty, and staff have nominated eight SILS faculty members for consideration for the 2015 Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence:

Ron Bergquist

Mary Grace Flaherty

Stephanie Haas

Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Mohammad Jarrahi

Diane Kelly

Erika Patillo

Zeynep Tufekci

A selection committee that includes Jaime Arguello and Rachael Clemens (2014 recipients of the award), SILS Dean Gary Marchionini, and ILSSA President Amelia Holmes will judge the nominations. Judging criteria include:

  • Teaching excellence
  • Innovation
  • Classroom instruction
  • Mentoring

The 2015 award winner will be announced at the SILS Commencement Ceremony on May 10. Congratulations to all the nominees for this recognition of their teaching excellence!