Beta Phi Mu chapter inducts new members

May 31, 2016

The Epsilon Chapter of Beta Phi Mu, the international library and information studies honor society, inducted 13 new members at its annual meeting in Chapel Hill on May 5. Beta Phi Mu was founded in 1948 to recognize and encourage scholastic achievement and leadership among library and information studies students. The Epsilon Chapter, the UNC-Chapel Hill chapter, was founded in 1958.

Emily Yates receives the Epsilon Chapter's
Achievement Award from current chapter
President John Blythe (MSIS ’09).

New members are chosen by the UNC School Information and Library Science (SILS) faculty. The following SILS 2015 graduates were inducted into Beta Phi Mu this spring:

Lisa Becksford

Faith Burns-Phillips

Katherine Dickson

Caroline Hallam

Michael Head

Aaron Kirshenfeld

Wickliffe Shreve accepts his membership
certificate from Lisa Gregory (MSLS ’09),
the Epsilon Chapter’s Vice President/
President Elect

Katherine Meyer

Jamie Patrick-Burns

Wickliffe Shreve

Julie Stivers

Lauren Turpin

Emily Yates

Karna Younger

The faculty honored Emily Yates with the chapter’s Achievement Award.

Faith Burns-Phillips greets faculty and other
Epsilon Chapter members at the dinner on May 5.

The dinner was held at Mediterranean Deli and included a talk by Casey Rawson, who was awarded a Ph.D. from SILS at the May commencement ceremony. Rawson discussed her research on the literacy needs of youth of color. In particular, Rawson has focused on the methods by which librarians can support science instruction.

The evening also included an update from SILS Dean Gary Marchionini on the state of the School.