SILS faculty nominated for 2016 Teaching Excellence Award

April 20, 2016

Students, faculty, and staff at the UNC School of Information and Library Science (SILS) have nominated seven SILS faculty members and adjunct faculty members for consideration for the 2016 Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence.

Faculty Award Nominees

Denise Anthony

Ron Bergquist

Rob Capra

Mary Grace Flaherty

Stephanie Haas

Diane Kelly

Barbara Moran

Brian Sturm

Adjunct Award Nominees

Joan Boone

Kathy Brennan

Jeff Campbell

Kelly Eubank

Elliot Hauser

Emily Vardell

A selection committee that includes SILS Dean Gary Marchionini, Assistant Professor Mohammad Hossein Jarrahi (2015 recipient of the award), and ILSSA President Natalia Lopez will judge the nominations. Judging criteria include:

  • Teaching excellence
  • Innovation
  • Classroom instruction
  • Mentoring

The 2016 award winners will be announced at the SILS Commencement Ceremony on May 8. Congratulations to all the nominees for this recognition of their teaching excellence!