Nominations invited for teaching excellence awards

February 15, 2016

Students, faculty, and staff of the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Information and Library Science (SILS) are invited to submit nominations for the 2016 Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence.

SILS will recognize two outstanding faculty members, one full-time and one adjunct, at the SILS commencement ceremony on May 8.

All full-time tenured, tenure-track, and fixed-term faculty, except the Dean, are eligible. In addition, all adjunct faculty and doctoral students who have taught at least one course each year for three consecutive years (including the current year) are eligible for an award. Winners from the previous two years (Dr. Mohammad Jarrahi, Dr. Jaime Arguello, and Rachael Clemens) are not eligible.

The selection committee, including Dean Gary Marchionini, Dr. Mohammad Jarrahi, and ILSSA President Natalia Lopez, will judge the nominations.

The judging criteria include:

•    Teaching excellence
•    Innovation
•    Classroom instruction
•    Mentoring

To nominate an outstanding teacher, please complete the form at and submit it by March 15, 2016.

The full-time professor selected for this award will receive a certificate and a $2,500 cash award. The adjunct professor will receive a certificate and a $500 cash award.

Photo: SILS Assistant Professor Mohammad Hossein Jarrahi receives the 2015 Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence from 2014 winner Jaime Arguello.