Sandra Hughes-Hassell emcees ALA Youth Media Awards

February 14, 2018

Sandra Hughes-Hassell, Professor and Coordinator of the School Library Media program at the UNC School of Information and Library Science (SILS), emceed the awards ceremony for the American Library Association’s 2018 Youth Media Awards at its Midwinter Meeting in Denver, Colorado, on Feb. 12.

SILS Professor Sandra Hughes-Hassell announces award winners at
the 2018 ALA Youth Media Awards.

Among the awards announced were the John Newberry Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature, the Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children, and the Coretta Scott King Book Awards that recognize African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults. Click here for a full list of 2018 award winners.

Additionally, ALA President Jim Neal announced that the ALA is working closely with the American Indian Library Association, Association of Jewish Libraries, and the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association in order to bring awareness to high-quality, multi-cultural literature for youth. Neal announced that new awards for multi-cultural youth literature will be revealed at the 2019 ALA Youth Media Awards.

Hughes-Hassell’s research focuses on social justice issues in youth library services, diverse youth literature, and the role of school librarians in education reform. She is the current president of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) and has worked to advance the theme “Youth Activism through Community Engagement” during her term. The theme aims to build teen leadership skills and amplify teen voices by promoting community involvement.