Nominate your favorite SILS teachers for recognition

February 6, 2019

All students, faculty, and staff of the UNC School of Information and Library Science (SILS) are invited to submit nominations for the 2019 Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence.

SILS will recognize two outstanding faculty - one full-time faculty member and one adjunct faculty member - who have demonstrated excellence in teaching.  All full-time tenured, tenure-track, and fixed-term faculty, except the Dean, are eligible for an award.  In addition, all adjunct faculty and doctoral students who have taught at least one course each year for three consecutive years (including the current year) are eligible. 

Winners of the award from the previous two years (Dr. Mary Grace Flaherty, Leslie Thomson, Dr. Stephanie Haas, and Dr. Casey Rawson) are not eligible.

The selection committee includes Dean Gary Marchionini, Dr. Mary Grace Flaherty, Leslie Thomson, and ILSSA co-presidents Megan McMahon and Caleece Nash.

The judging criteria include:

  • Teaching excellence
  • Innovation
  • Classroom instruction
  • Mentoring

To nominate an outstanding SILS teacher, please complete the form at and submit it by March 8, 2019.

The full-time professor selected for this award will receive a certificate and a $2,500 cash award. The adjunct professor will receive a certificate and a $500 cash award. Winners of the 2019 awards will be announced at the SILS commencement ceremony on May 12.