SILS PhD Students

Yu Lee An

LINKEDIN

yuleean@email.unc.edu

Semantic technologies, linked data, knowledge graphs, knowledge representation via ontologies, British music trade and historical musicology

Advisor: Ryan Shaw

Matthew Belskie

HOMEPAGE

belskie@unc.edu

Strategic decision-making by esports players under perfect and imperfect information constraints

Advisor: Brad Hemminger

Kristen Bowen

HOMEPAGE

klbowen2@live.unc.edu 

Human-computer interaction, social studies of information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Bogeum Choi

choiboge@live.unc.edu

Information seeking behavior, task-based information retrieval, human factors (cognitive and affective factors in HCI), search as learning

Advisor: Jaime Arguello 

Thu-Mai Christian

Advisor: Helen Tibbo

Aashka Dave

HOMEPAGE   LINKEDIN

aashkad@email.unc.edu

Media ecosystems, risk communications, public health, disaster recovery, user experience, design research

Advisor: Zeynep Tufekci

 

 

Charlene Finley

finleyc@email.unc.edu

Health informatics, information seeking behavior and use (health-related), health policies and confidentiality and security of health information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and David Gotz

Patrick Golden

HOMEPAGE

ptgolden@email.unc.edu

Scholarly note-taking practices, infrastructure studies, history of information systems

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Stephanie Haas

Mengtian Guo

LINKEDIN 

mtguo@email.unc.edu

Natural language processing, machine learning, information retrieval, health informatics

Advisors: Yue Wang and David Gotz

Jacob Hill

jthill@live.unc.edu

Knowledge organization, digital humanities, Baha’i studies, Arabic & Persian manuscripts

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brad Hemminger

Eliscia Kinder

elisciak@live.unc.edu

Archives, memory, communities, digital humanities

Advisor: Ryan Shaw

Christopher Lenhardt
Lan Li

HOMEPAGE

ll12@unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, social studies of technology

Advisor: Zeynep Tufekci

Yuan Li

yuanli@email.unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, interactive information behavior, collaborative search, information/knowledge organization and knowledge re-use

Advisor: Rob Capra

YuanYe Ma

HOMEPAGE

yuanye1@live.unc.edu

Inter-cultural information ethics, semantic network analysis, and natural language processing

Advisor: Stephanie Haas

Robert Manzo

rorobe15@email.unc.edu

Disability history, library history, print and online publishing spaces used by autistic self-advocates

Advisor: Ryan Shaw

Laura March

HOMEPAGE

laura.march@unc.edu

Educational technology; digital and visual culture; accessibility; social media; memes; museums, libraries, and cultural institutions

Advisors: Sandra Hughes-Hassell and Marijel (Maggie) Melo

Deborah (Debbie) Maron

maron@live.unc.edu

Metadata pedagogy, history of LIS, philosophy of information organization, critical information theory

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brian Sturm

John D. Martin III

HOMEPAGE

john.d.martin.iii@unc.edu

Information behavior, disclosure of personal information, survey interfaces and methods, free/open source software (F/OSS) education, digital humanities, Middle East libraries and cultural institutions

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Danny Anh Nguyen

danguyen@email.unc.edu

Scholarly communications, information retrieval, human-computer interaction, social media, evidence-based practice

Advisor: Brad Hemminger

Snigdha Petluru

spetluru@unc.edu 

Database and information retrieval systems, text/data mining, bio/health/medical informatics 

Advisor: David Gotz

Jiaming Qu

HOMEPAGE

jiaming@live.unc.edu

Information retrieval, text data mining, interpretable machine learning, natural language processing 

Advisors: Yue Wang and Jaime Arguello

Andrew Rabkin

rabkin@unc.edu 

Organization of information and information architecture, archives/special collections and cultural institutions, data management and curation, social studies of information management 

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee

Cynthia (Cindy) Schmidt

schmidtc@email.unc.edu

School library media, marketing and PR for libraries, professional advocacy and recruitment, Library 2.0

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

William Su

LINKEDIN

willjsu@live.unc.edu

Data science, machine learning bias mitigation, AI explainability

Advisors: Yue Wang and David Gotz 

Elnora Kelly Tayag

HOMEPAGE

elnora@live.unc.edu

Community-based collections, digital humanities

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Kelsey Urgo

HOMEPAGE

kurgo@email.unc.edu.

Search as learning, learning-supportive search tools, and predicting learning during search

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Rob Capra

Lingyu Wang

HOMEPAGE

lyw@unc.edu 

Digital art archive, social knowledge representation, postmodern theory

Advisors: Cal Lee and Zeynep Tufekci

 

WenYuan Wang

HOMEPAGE   LINKEDIN

vaapad@live.unc.edu 

Human information interaction, externalization of knowledge, impact of pre-exist knowledge on information consumption, information visualization, UI design and data mining

Advisor: David Gotz

Austin R. Ward

HOMEPAGE

austinrw@unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, augmented/virtual reality, interactive information retrieval, usability

Advisor: Rob Capra

Mary White

mwwhite@email.unc.edu

Academic and health sciences librarianship, information workflow and needs, public and global health

Advisor: Mary Grace Flaherty

Hanlin Zhang

HOMEPAGE

hanlin.zhang@unc.edu

Data analytics, augmented/virtual reality,  scholarly communication and open access

Advisor: Bradley Hemminger