SILS PhD Students

Sandeep Avula

HOMEPAGE

asandeep@unc.edu

Information retrieval, human-computer interactions, collaborative search, and conversational systems

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Gary Marchionini

Heather L. Barnes

hlbarnes@email.unc.edu

Community archives, social informatics, digital curation, organizational & cultural memory-making and/or memorialization processes

Advisor: Helen Tibbo

Kristen Bowen

klbowen2@live.unc.edu 

Human-computer interaction, social studies of information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and Zeynep Tufekci

Jonathan Crabtree

Jonathan_Crabtree@unc.edu

Digital curation, archives, and preservation

Advisor: Helen Tibbo

Anita Crescenzi

HOMEPAGE

amcc@email.unc.edu

Human-computer interactions, interactive information retrieval, collaboration and information seeking and behavior, especially with regard to health

Advisors: Rob Capra and Diane Kelly

Nina Exner

HOMEPAGE

nexner@email.unc.edu

Academic libraries, research competency development, mentoring of faculty-librarians, library organizational behavior, grantsmanship, popular materials

Advisor: Barbara Moran

Charlene Finley

finleyc@email.unc.edu

Health informatics, information seeking behavior and use (health-related), health policies and confidentiality and security of health information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and David Gotz

Patrick Golden

HOMEPAGE

ptgolden@email.unc.edu

Scholarly note-taking practices, infrastructure studies, history of information systems

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Stephanie Haas

Elliott Hauser

HOMEPAGE

eah13@email.unc.edu

Data provenance, research workflows, data modeling, history and theory of information science

Advisors: Brad Hemminger and Ryan Shaw

Jacob Hill

jthill@live.unc.edu

Knowledge organization, digital humanities, Baha’i studies, Arabic & Persian manuscripts

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brad Hemminger

Kimberly Hirsh

HOMEPAGE

kimberlyhirsh@unc.edu

Information needs and behaviors of adolescents, role of school libraries in learning, professional development of school librarians

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Samantha Kaplan

sjkaplan@live.unc.edu

Misinformation and disinformation at the intersection of everyday life and health contexts focusing on information behavior and use

Advisors: Barbara Wildemuth and Ryan Shaw

Heejun Kim

HOMEPAGE

heejunk@live.unc.edu

Credibility assessment of health information in health-related online communities; Dynamics of social and information networks; Data analytics; Text mining; Machine learning

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Javed Mostafa

Yuan Li

yuanli@email.unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, interactive information behavior, collaborative search, information/knowledge organization and knowledge re-use

Advisor: Rob Capra

YuanYe Ma

yuanye1@live.unc.edu

Data protection and privacy

Advisor: Arcot Rajasekar 

Deborah (Debbie) Maron

maron@live.unc.edu

Metadata pedagogy, history of LIS, philosophy of information organization, critical information theory

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brian Sturm

John D. Martin III

HOMEPAGE

john.d.martin.iii@unc.edu

Information behavior, disclosure of personal information, survey interfaces and methods, free/open source software (F/OSS) education, digital humanities, Middle East libraries and cultural institutions

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Sarah Beth Nelson

HOMEPAGE

sbnelson@live.unc.edu

Orality and literacy, true personal storytelling, contemporary oral tradition

Advisor: Brian Sturm

Danny Anh Nguyen

danguyen@email.unc.edu

Scholarly communications, information retrieval, human-computer interaction, social media, evidence-based practice

Advisor: Brad Hemminger

Snigdha Petluru

spetluru@unc.edu 

Database and information retrieval systems, text/data mining, bio/health/medical informatics 

Advisor: David Gotz

Colin Post

HOMEPAGE

ccolin@live.unc.edu

Net-based art, artists' personal archives, history of art conservation

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee

Andrew Rabkin

rabkin@unc.edu 

Organization of information and information architecture, archives/special collections and cultural institutions, data management and curation, social studies of information management 

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee

Emily E. Roscoe

eroscoe@live.unc.edu

Government officials' legal and societal obligations for information management, legal foundations of public information in a representative government, legal risk management for libraries and archives

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee

Cynthia (Cindy) Schmidt

schmidtc@email.unc.edu

School library media, marketing and PR for libraries, professional advocacy and recruitment, Library 2.0

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Grace Shin

gshin6@live.unc.edu

Health information, information seeking and behavior, especially with regard to health, human-computer interaction

Advisors: Bradley Hemminger and Javed Mostafa

Elnora Kelly Tayag

HOMEPAGE

elnora@live.unc.edu

Community-based collections, digital humanities

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Leslie Thomson

HOMEPAGE

lethomso@email.unc.edu

Everyday life information practices, human information interactions, information practices, online content creation, personal information management, qualitative research methods

Advisor: Barbara Wildemuth

Megan Threats

meganv@live.unc.edu

Health information behavior, health interventions, health information management, consumer health information

Advisors: Claudia Gollop and Amelia Gibson

WenYuan Wang

vaapad@live.unc.edu 

Database and information retrieval systems, text/data mining, human-computer interaction

Advisor: David Gotz

Austin Ward

austinrw@live.unc.edu

Text/data mining, human-computer interaction, systems analysis and design, organization of information and information architecture 

Advisor: Rob Capra

Mary White

mwwhite@email.unc.edu

Academic and health sciences librarianship, information workflow and needs, public and global health.

Advisor: Mary Grace Flaherty

Shenmeng Xu

shenmeng@live.unc.edu

Scientometrics, scholarly communications, altmetrics and related areas

Advisor: Brad Hemminger

Yinglong Zhang

yinglongz@unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, collaborative search, data science, eye-tracking

Advisors: Rob Capra and Diane Kelly