SILS Ph.D. Students

Sandeep Avula

Sandeep Avula

asandeep@unc.edu

Research Interests: Information retrieval; Recommender systems

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Diane Kelly


Earl Bailey

Earl Bailey

earl.bailey@gmail.com

Research Interests: Effects of bias on information retrieval and use; Cognitive aspects to information design and retrieval; Examination of personalization from a cognitive perspective

Advisor: Diane Kelly


Heather L. Barnes

Heather L. Barnes

hlbarnes@email.unc.edu

Research Interests: Community archives; Social informatics; Digital curation; Organizational & cultural memory-making/memorialization processes

Advisor: Helen Tibbo


Kathy Brennan

Kathy Brennan

kbrennan@unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Impact of cognitive load on information search and retrieval; Measures of mental effort; Human-computer interaction (HCI); Research methods

Advisor: Diane Kelly


Jeff Calcaterra

jacalcat@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: User interface design and evaluation; Visualization; IT management; Computer-supported cooperative work

Advisor: Brad Hemminger


Leo L. Cao

Leo L. Cao

lcao@unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Games and learning; Information, communication and technology literacy; Information seeking behavior and use; Libraries and the 21st century challenge of shifting demographics

Advisor: Stephanie Haas


Thu-Mai Christian

thumai@email.unc.edu

Advisor: Helen Tibbo


Rachael Clemens

Rachael Clemens

rclemens@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Information behavior and decision making during a personal crisis; Affective and cognitive influences on information seeking; Information seeking and avoidance as a coping / therapeutic activity; User education

Advisor: Barbara Wildemuth


Jonathon Crabtree

Jonathon Crabtree

Jonathan_Crabtree@unc.edu

Research Interests: Digital curation; Archives; Preservation

Advisor: Helen Tibbo


Anita Crescenzi

amcc@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Human-computer interactions; Interactive information retrieval; Collaboration and information seeking and behavior especially with regard to health

Advisors: Rob Capra and Diane Kelly


Nina Exner

nexner@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Academic libraries; Research competency development; Mentoring of faculty-librarians; Library organizational behavior; Grantsmanship; Popular materials

Advisor: Barbara Moran


Charlene Finley

finleyc@email.unc.edu

Research Interests: Health informatics; Information seeking behavior and use (health-related); health policies and confidentiality and security of health information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and David Gotz


Patrick Golden

ptgolden@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Scholarly note-taking practices; Infrastructure studies; History of information systems

Teaching: Digital Libraries

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Stephanie Haas


Sheryl Grant

Sheryl Grant

sherylgrant@gmail.com

Homepage

Research Interests: Reputation systems; Technology-mediated social participation; Digital badge system design; Value-driven and value-sensitive design

Advisor: Barbara Wildemuth


Elliott Hauser

Elliott Hauser

eah13@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Data provenance; Research workflows; Data modeling; History and theory of information science

Teaching: Programming; Web development

Advisors: Brad Hemminger and Ryan Shaw


Jacob Hill

jthill@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Knowledge organization; Digital humanities; Baha’i Studies; Arabic & Persian manuscripts

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brad Hemminger


Kimberly Hirsh

kimberlyhirsh@unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Information needs and behaviors of adolescents; Role of school libraries in learning; Professional development of school librarians

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell


Zekun Hu

Zekun Hu

zekunhu@unc.edu

Research Interests: Archives; Digital preservation; Personally identifiable information in digital collections

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee


Samantha Kaplan

Samantha Kaplan

Homepage

Research Interests: Misinformation and disinformation

Advisors: Barbara Wildemuth and Ryan Shaw


Heejun Kim

Heejun Kim

heejunk@live.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Credibility assessment of health information in health-related online communities; Dynamics of social and information networks; Data analytics; Text mining; Machine learning

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Javed Mostafa


Heather Davidson Maneiro

Heather Davidson Maneiro

hmaneiro@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Information literacy

Teaching: Information retrieval and analysis; Children’s Literature; Writing; Reference sources and services; School library administration and program evaluation; Standards for school libraries

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell


Deborah (Debbie) Maron

maron@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Metadata pedagogy; History of LIS; Philosophy of information organization; Critical Information Theory

Teaching: Organization of Information, Digital Libraries

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brian Sturm


John D. Martin III

john.d.martin.iii@unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Information behavior; Disclosure of personal information; Survey interfaces and methods; Free/Open Source Software (F/OSS) education; Digital humanities; Middle East libraries and cultural institutions

Teaching: Human information interaction; Tools for information literacy; User interface design

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell


Sarah Beth Nelson

Sarah Beth Nelson

sbnelson@live.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Orality and literacy; True personal storytelling; Contemporary oral tradition

Advisor: Brian Sturm


Danny Anh Nguyen

danguyen@email.unc.edu

Research Interests: Scholarly communications; Information retrieval; Human-Computer interaction; Social media; Evidence-based practice

Advisor: Brad Hemminger


Ericka Patillo

Ericka Patillo

patillo@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Academic libraries; Organizational effectiveness; Middle management

Advisor: Barbara Moran


Colin Post

ccolin@live.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Net-based art; Artists' personal archives; History of art conservation

Advisor: Cal Lee


Jason Priem

Jason Priem

jason@impactstory.org

Homepage

Research Interests: Scholarly communication; social media; Web-based metrics of scholarly impact; open-access publishing; Information visualization

Advisor: Brad Hemminger


Sarah Ramdeen

ramdeen@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Data stewardship (preservation, curation, management, access, etc.); Information seeking behavior (related to physical objects); Earth and space science/geoscience informatics

Teaching: Organization of information; Science data stewardship; Museums and archives related topics

Advisor: Claudia Gollop


Emily E. Roscoe

Emily E. Roscoe

eroscoe@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Government officials' legal and societal obligations for information management; Legal foundations of public information in a representative government; Legal risk management for libraries and archives

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee


Cynthia (Cindy) Schmidt

schmidtc@email.unc.edu

Research Interests: School library media; Marketing/PR for libraries; Professional advocacy/recruitment; Library 2.0

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell


Grace Shin

Grace Shin

gshin6@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Health information; Information seeking and behavior especially with regard to health; Human-Computer interaction

Advisors: Bradley Hemminger and Javed Mostafa


Elnora Kelly Tayag

Elnora Kelly Tayag

elnora@live.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Community-based collections; Digital humanities

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Sandra Hughes-Hassell


Leslie Thomson

Leslie Thomson

lethomso@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Everyday life information practices; Human information interactions; Information practices; Online content creation; Personal information management, Qualitative research methods

Teaching: Human Information Interactions; Everyday Life Information; Emotions and Information

Advisor: Barbara Wildemuth


Megan Threats

meganv@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Health information behavior; Health interventions; Health information management; Consumer health information

Advisors: Claudia Gollop and Amelia Gibson


Emily Vardell

Emily Vardell

evardell@email.unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Health information behavior; Health insurance literacy and decision-making

Teaching: General reference skills; Health sciences reference; Health information behavior; Human information behavior; Consumer health information; Evidence-based medicine; Advanced searching skills

Advisor: Claudia Gollop


Jewel Ward

jewel_ward@unc.edu

Research Interests: Transfer, management, preservation, and curation of (usually "big") data and information for use and re-use

Advisor: Reagan Moore


Shenmeng Xu

Shenmeng Xu

shenmeng@live.unc.edu

Research Interests: Scientometrics; Scholarly communications; Altmetrics and related areas.

Advisor: Brad Hemminger


Yinglong Zhang

yinglongz@unc.edu

Homepage

Research Interests: Human-computer interaction; Collaborative search; Data science; Eye-tracking

Advisors: Rob Capra and Diane Kelly