SILS PhD Students

Sandeep Avula

HOMEPAGE

asandeep@unc.edu

Information retrieval, human-computer interactions, collaborative search, and conversational systems

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Gary Marchionini

Matthew Belskie

HOMEPAGE

belskie@unc.edu

Strategic decision-making by esports players under perfect and imperfect information constraints

Advisor: Brad Hemminger

Kristen Bowen

HOMEPAGE

klbowen2@live.unc.edu 

Human-computer interaction, social studies of information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Bogeum Choi

choiboge@live.unc.edu

Information seeking behavior, Task-based information retrieval, Human factors (cognitive and affective factors in HCI), Search as Learning

Advisor: Jaime Arguello 

Thu-Mai Christian

Advisor: Helen Tibbo

Jonathan Crabtree

Jonathan_Crabtree@unc.edu

Digital curation, archives, and preservation

Advisor: Helen Tibbo

Charlene Finley

finleyc@email.unc.edu

Health informatics, information seeking behavior and use (health-related), health policies and confidentiality and security of health information

Advisors: Amelia Gibson and David Gotz

Patrick Golden

HOMEPAGE

ptgolden@email.unc.edu

Scholarly note-taking practices, infrastructure studies, history of information systems

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Stephanie Haas

Jacob Hill

jthill@live.unc.edu

Knowledge organization, digital humanities, Baha’i studies, Arabic & Persian manuscripts

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brad Hemminger

Kimberly Hirsh

HOMEPAGE

Information needs and behaviors of adolescents, role of school libraries in learning, professional development of school librarians

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Eliscia Kinder

elisciak@live.unc.edu

Digital humanities, collective memory and community archive

Advisor: Ryan Shaw

Christopher Lenhardt
Yuan Li

yuanli@email.unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, interactive information behavior, collaborative search, information/knowledge organization and knowledge re-use

Advisor: Rob Capra

YuanYe Ma

HOMEPAGE

yuanye1@live.unc.edu

Inter-cultural information ethics, semantic network analysis, and natural language processing

Advisor: Stephanie Haas

Laura March

HOMEPAGE

laura.march@unc.edu

Educational technology, digital and visual culture; accessibility, museums, libraries, and cultural institutions

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Deborah (Debbie) Maron

maron@live.unc.edu

Metadata pedagogy, history of LIS, philosophy of information organization, critical information theory

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Brian Sturm

John D. Martin III

HOMEPAGE

john.d.martin.iii@unc.edu

Information behavior, disclosure of personal information, survey interfaces and methods, free/open source software (F/OSS) education, digital humanities, Middle East libraries and cultural institutions

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Danny Anh Nguyen

danguyen@email.unc.edu

Scholarly communications, information retrieval, human-computer interaction, social media, evidence-based practice

Advisor: Brad Hemminger

Snigdha Petluru

spetluru@unc.edu 

Database and information retrieval systems, text/data mining, bio/health/medical informatics 

Advisor: David Gotz

Jiaming Qu

HOMEPAGE

jiaming@live.unc.edu

Information retrieval, text data mining, interpretable machine learning, natural language processing 

Advisors: Yue Wang and Jaime Arguello

Andrew Rabkin

rabkin@unc.edu 

Organization of information and information architecture, archives/special collections and cultural institutions, data management and curation, social studies of information management 

Advisor: Christopher (Cal) Lee

Cynthia (Cindy) Schmidt

schmidtc@email.unc.edu

School library media, marketing and PR for libraries, professional advocacy and recruitment, Library 2.0

Advisor: Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Elnora Kelly Tayag

HOMEPAGE

elnora@live.unc.edu

Community-based collections, digital humanities

Advisors: Ryan Shaw and Sandra Hughes-Hassell

Tripp Tuttle

HOMEPAGE

tripp@unc.edu

Human-AI interaction (HAII), sociotechnical computational infrastructures, user trust of algorithmic knowledge production in information retrieval. 

Advisor: Rob Capra

Kelsey Urgo

kurgo@email.unc.edu.

Interactive Information Retrieval and Human Computer Interaction

Advisors: Jaime Arguello and Rob Capra

WenYuan Wang

vaapad@live.unc.edu 

Database and information retrieval systems, text/data mining, human-computer interaction

Advisor: David Gotz

Austin R. Ward

HOMEPAGE

austinrw@unc.edu

Human-computer interaction, augmented/virtual reality, interactive information retrieval, usability

Advisor: Rob Capra

Mary White

mwwhite@email.unc.edu

Academic and health sciences librarianship, information workflow and needs, public and global health.

Advisor: Mary Grace Flaherty

Hanlin Zhang

HOMEPAGE

hanlin.zhang@unc.edu

Data analytics, augmented/virtual reality,  scholarly communication and open access.

Advisor: Bradley Hemminger