Awards Presented by SILS and SILSAA

The Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence
Recognizes one full-time faculty member and one adjunct faculty member, nominated by students for teaching excellence.

Dean's Achievement Award
Presented to one information science student and one library science student who produce the highest quality masters' papers each year.

Elfreda Chatman Research Award
Awarded to masters' students who demonstrate creative and scholarly vision in their research proposals.

Outstanding Service to the School Award
Presented by the SILS Alumni Association (SILSAA), which asks members of the faculty to select a student who has contributed outstanding service to the school and his or her fellow students.

Distinguished Alumni Award
Recognizes alumni who have demonstrated outstanding professional library or information science achievements at national, state, or local levels, or who have provided outstanding service to SILS or its Alumni Association.

SILS Staff Excellence Award
Presented to staff members who have demonstrated excellence, commitment, teamwork, and outstanding service.

The Edward G. Holley for the Good of the Order Award
Recognizes an individual who has given selflessly for the good of SILS.

Beta Phi Mu Honor Society
The Epsilon Chapter of Beta Phi Mu, the international information and library science honor society, is located at UNC-Chapel Hill and annually inducts members from the SILS master's students' graduating class. To be eligible for membership, a graduate student must maintain an academic average equal to 3.75 on a 4.00 scale, show professional promise, and be recommended by faculty. No more than 25 percent of a graduating class may be nominated for membership.