Skip to main content

Nominate your favorite professor for the SILS teaching excellence award

All students, faculty, and staff of the UNC School of Information and Library Science (SILS) are invited to submit nominations for the 2020 Deborah Barreau Award for Teaching Excellence.

SILS will recognize one full-time faculty member and one adjunct faculty member at the spring commencement ceremony in May.

All full-time tenured, tenure-track, and fixed-term faculty – except the Dean – are eligible. In addition, all adjunct faculty and doctoral students who have taught at least one course each year for three consecutive years (including the current year) are eligible.

Members of the selection committee and winners of the award from the previous two years – Dr. Amelia Gibson, Patrick Hodges, Dr. Mary Grace Flaherty, and Dr. Leslie Thomson – are not eligible.

The selection committee includes Dean Gary Marchionini, Dr. Amelia Gibson, Patrick Hodges, and ILSSA co-presidents Jade Bruno and Carmen Silva.

Amelia Gibson posing with Mary Grace Flaherty in graduation regalia as Gibson receives the Award for Teaching Excellence.
SILS Assistant Professor Amelia Gibson accepts the 2019 Award
for Teaching Excellence from 2018 recipient Mary Grace Flaherty.
Winners from the past two years are not eligible for the 2020 award.

Judging criteria include:

  • Teaching excellence
  • Innovation
  • Classroom instruction
  • Mentoring

To nominate an outstanding teacher, please complete the form at: and submit it by March 6, 2020

The full-time professor selected for this award will receive a certificate and a $2,500 cash award. The adjunct professor will receive a certificate and a $500 cash award.